January 2008

305 pounds

I delivered a baby, who happened to be my second child…. he was 11 pounds 8 oz.  So happy to have him!! 

I was 355 lbs! No time to diet or exercise.  I was breastfeeding and caring for my 4-year-old and my husband.  My house and my friends. 

That summer I had found my way down the scale by some sort of magic… and in November of 2008, I was desperate.  Still on the scale at 305 pounds. I was Unhappy, Unmotivated and UNHEALTHY!

I joined a food program for food addicts. I lost several pounds in 6 months.  It felt great… but I was still OVER 200 lbs… I had been over 200 pounds for nearly 20 years.  I quit that program and continued trying to drop the weight that was weighing me DOWN.

In 2011, I had a dear friend Tess White post on Facebook that she was going to a weight watchers meeting. I thought,  that is the ONLY avenue I have NOT tried.  On February 5th I walked into my first meeting. Weighing in at 241 pounds, feeling defeated.  

I have been a weight watchers member now for 1 year.  I was a size 18-20 when I attended my first meeting. Today I can wear size 8 jeans. ME IN A SIZE 8???

I have climbed many mountains in 35 years.  The top of this mountain is calm and beautiful.  In 2011, I started running also.  Currently I am training for 5k race and  2 half marathons. I train 5 days a week. I love spinning, weightlifting, the sauna, foam rolling!!

I quit smoking, and I quit drinking.  I am now what I have always wanted to be.

A great mother. I can be present to raise my kids. No addictions. Well other than my love for health and fitness and friends and family! 

I call myself an athlete.  I have always been a heavy person. I was always the tallest and the biggest and the heaviest.  I never thought I would be where I was today.  It all started by believing I was worth it.

Happy Motivated and HEALTHY!

I look forward to hearing any questions you may have.  I am just like you.  I love to manifest really POSITIVE situations!

By shapetj

4 comments on “January 2008

  1. Yay for blogging!

    I think you’re awesome for what you’ve accomplished! I think you have the right mindset for an ultra marathon, I might try to talk you into one in the future! 🙂

  2. Shannon – you have accomplished something that a lot of people don’t have the drive to do ( we all know the tools just don’t apply them)  – proud of you Girl!  Not only are you living a healthy lifestyle but you are teaching your boys by setting an example (lucky kids!)  – We are looking forward to reading more about your journey 🙂   Tina, Carl, Leni & Baby Young 2  🙂 

  3. Shannon-I rememeber when you were my barber back in 2006 and gave the finest haircut that the Pax River Exchange could offer. It was not until after a spin class that my wife informed me that you use to cut my hair. I told her that your face was very familiar, but I couldn’t place the rest of you. THAT’S BECAUSE THE REST OF YOU IS NO LONGER! I enjoy the new you and look forward to spinning with you and the team each week. You bring your “A GAME” each and every time!!!~ Gary

  4. Every time I read your success story it always brings tears to my eyes! I am so glad our paths have crossed and that you joined me at WW last year. You have done a down right magnificent job and you inspire people only a daily basis and have changed so many lives!! WW is not a diet it is a life change and it has changed both of our lives completely! I am so proud of all your success from the weight loss to the spinning to the running and I can’t wait to be there with you for your first half marathon!! I love you xoxoxo!!!

Leave a Reply

